Meet the Family – Our first book signing turned family reunion

My first book signing for my book From the Sanctuary to the Streets hosted by Becky Qualls and Colleen Robinson was a huge success with more than 40 people attending.  Many of the “characters/co-authors” from the book were also on hand to autograph their respective chapters.  They are in the photo from left to right (Rosalind, Autumn, Sharon, Karen O, Yolanda, Becky, me, Lakisha, Tammy, Charles and Aileen).

As I looked around the room, I was blown away by how God had knit us all together.  Soccer moms who are now ministering in the inner city were standing next to ex-offenders who now share their testimonies in the suburbs churches.  Business owners were sharing a meal with former crack addicts as suburban housewives swapped stories with formerly homeless single mothers.  It was one of the most joy-filled experiences of my life.

One of the things I wish I would have done in the book is included photographs of many “character/co-authors.”  My lovely daughter Caitlin took these pictures last night of her extended family.  I hope those of you who are reading the book are blessed to put a face with some of the “characters”.  These individuals have truly become my family.  Many have been a part of my life for more than 8 years and they are all my sisters and brothers in this very colorful family that only God could have birthed. I am honored that they all trusted me with their stories.

Rosalind and her daughter Autumn - Chapter 12,14

Aileen Owens - Chapter 2

Charles Fitzgerald - Chapter 15

LaKisha and the boys - Chapter 13

Tammy McClure - Chapter 17

Sharon Drescher - Chapter 9

2 Comments

Filed under Book Related

2 responses to “Meet the Family – Our first book signing turned family reunion

  1. Pingback: Religionless Christianity: Finding God Outside the Institutional Church « Wendy McCaig

  2. Pingback: Religionless Christianity: Finding God Outside the Institutional Church | Wendy McCaig

Leave a Reply

