Destination Unknown

In 1982 when Missing Persons released the song “Destination Unknown”, I was a sophomore in high school. (Yes, I am really that old.)  I loved that song! I have always had a very high pitched voice and vocalist Dale Bozzio made quirky high-pitched singing totally cool.

I had a sudden urge this week to listen to that song.  The album was ruined in a flood years ago but thanks to lala.com, I was transported back to 1982 with the touch of a button.  I was 16 again and as I listened to the lyrics, I realized, not much has changed.  No, I am no longer that awkward small town girl who wondered if she would ever make it past the Lampasas city limits but my destination is still unknown and life is indeed very strange.

Destination Unknown – Missing Persons

Life is so strange when you don’t know
How can you tell where you’re going to
You can’t be sure of any situation
Something could change and then you won’t know

You ask yourself
Where do we go from here
It seems so all too near
Just as far beyond as I can see
I still don’t know what this all means to me

So you tell yourself
I have nowhere to go
I don’t know what to do
And I don’t even know the time of day
I guess it doesn’t matter any way

Life is so strange
Destination unknown
When you don’t know
Your destination
Something could change
It’s unknown
And then you won’t know
Destination unknown

You ask yourself
When will my time come
Has it all been said and done
I know I’ll leave when its my time to go
‘Til then I’ll carry on with what I know

Life is so strange
Destination unknown
When you don’t know
Your destination
Something could change
It’s unknown
And then you won’t know
Destination unknown

 

In a few months, my first book will be in print and this week I began working on the proposal for a second book.  I know if at age 16 someone would have told me I would be a minister in the inner city of Richmond Virginia working with homeless individuals and writing books, I would have thought them crazy.  Life is truly strange and I am thankful the destination is still unknown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Reflection

Leave a Reply

