Yolanda’s Gift

My Embrace team may not be biological family but we are very much a spiritual family.  Only God could have brought us together and given us such a love for one another.  My sister Yolanda has a special talent for liturgical dancing.  Yesterday at the Embrace Christmas party she gave us the most incredible gift; she performed to the song “Yes”.  I rarely cry, even with all the heartache and pain I see in my work, but there was such a movement of the spirit as I listened to the words of this song and watched Yolanda move into a place of oneness with the Holy Spirit, her body and soul literally melting into God. I felt God speaking these words directly to me and was moved to tears.

Will your heart and soul say yes
will your Spirit still say yes
There is more that I require of thee
Will your heart and soul say yes

Now will your heart and soul say yes
Will your Spirit still say yes
If I told you what I really need
Will your heart and soul say yes

Now will your heart and soul say yes yea~
Will your spirit still say yes
God is saying there is more that I require of thee
Will your heart and soul say yes

Will your heart and soul say yea~
Will your spirit still say yes
If I told you what I really need from thee
Would your heart and soul say yes so just say

There is more that I require of thee
so let your heart and soul says Yes

These past few months have been difficult.  We have gone from two AmeriCorps members focused on providing aftercare support to families in transition to seventeen people and expanded into two community based missional teams.  To say I have been a little stretched is a major understatement.  They are all good people but they need direction, encouragement and on-going training.  The work we are doing is complex and there is no manual to follow.  We have to move with the spirit, build relationships with the saints who were there before us and allow our collective vision to take shape before we move into action.  It is a work of art, not something you can do in your own power.

I realized as I listened to the words of this song, that God is saying these words to me and our team continually.  Many of us, myself included, have been tempted to say “no”.  My teammates have given up lucrative careers, have sacrificed time with their families, and have literally put their lives on the line.  The enemy tempts us to focus our attention on the darkness, the danger, and the disease of hopelessness that surrounds us.  The enemy seeks to confuse us with personality conflicts and miscommunications, and lies.  Our adversary has us focus on the cost of obedience instead of the voice of God calling us deeper.

We all hear God’s voice and we have to daily say “Yes”.  Will you choose to say “Yes lord I will go with you a little farther, I will give a little more, I will not be afraid, I will not turn back, Yes Lord, Yes.”

In this season where so many focus on material gifts, I am thankful to my sister Yolanda who reminded me that the greatest gift and privilege is to say “Yes, Lord, where ever you may lead, no matter what the cost, I will follow.”

7 Comments

Filed under Stories from the Street, Urban Ministry

7 responses to “Yolanda’s Gift

  1. Howard P

    Awesome post Wendy! Much gratitude for all you are doing in the community. Your inner drive and reflections on your experiences are an inspiration to many, myself included. The poem above is beautiful. Have a Merry Christmas!

  2. Howard P

    Awesome posting below as well. It was my first opportunity in a while to read your blog. Thanks for investing the time that you do to share your thoughts and experiences. I don’t know how many people are reading now but my sense is that you are leaving a trail of very valuable information.

    • wmccaig

      Thanks Howard. We are going to start linking the blog to the Embrace Newsletter so more people know it is here. I am also leaving a trail for me. I have a publisher interested in my next project so I am capturing ideas here and still trying to figure out what I want the next project to be about.

  3. Pingback: Join the Conversation « Embrace Richmond Weblog

  4. Heather

    Yolanda is a beautiful woman and your right Wendy a gift!! Keep dancing Yolanda and throwing that spirit around the room GIRL!!

  5. Pingback: Chinary’s Song | Wendy McCaig

Leave a Reply

