Are you the one or one of the ninety-nine?

Yesterday was a beautiful day in Richmond, so I invited Jim to go on a walk.  I have a hard time remembering that Jim was ever homeless, that at one point in his life, not so long ago, he was sleeping under the stars waging war against alcoholism.  As we walked, Jim said something profound.   He said “I was the one lost sheep that the shepherd left the ninety-nine to find and that changed everything for me.” 

I have never been “the one”, I was always one of the ninety-nine.  For much of my life I simply followed the herd never straying very far.  I wonder what it feels like to be lost in the wilderness and to have the Good Shepherd leave his flock to seek you out.  I can not imagine what it feels like to be found in the same way that Jim was found.

Leave a comment

Filed under Urban Ministry

Leave a Reply

